Lock Up!

all alone!

SAFE RIDE

I am fortunate to have a gym membership for the summer months.  And yesterday I decided it would be a wise choice to exercise indoors due to the excessive heat and humidity we are experiencing.  I rode my bike to the gym, and locked it on the empty bike rack there.  In an earlier post I mentioned my aversion to numbers, so I was glad to find this lock (Wordlock) last year at Target.  There are four rows of letters, and a possible 10,000 combinations for you to select from.  Do you generally lock you bike up, or worry about it being taken?

 

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in healthy living, safety and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lock Up!

  1. Traci says:

    As of yet, I haven’t ridden my bike into an area that I’m too concerned about, however I do always think about the fact that it could be stolen, so lock up every time. And luckily, I can simply take my bike into the office with me if I ride. While I wouldn’t be happy, it wouldn’t be a tragedy if my bike was stolen since it’s nothing really special or too expensive, but my husband’s would be much more of an issue. He has a Wilier road bike and paid more for it than I will probably ever pay for several bikes in my lifetime. He does ride it a lot though, at least 5-6 days per week, with some rides being up to approx. 110 miles, so hopefully the cost per mile will make it worthwhile eventually – haha 🙂

    I can’t tell from the photo, but are you locking your bike by the wheel? Maybe it just looks that way from the photo! The reason I ask is that I recently read about people locking their bike wheel to something and when they come back the entire bike with the exception of the one wheel is gone! That’s just terrible! I actually had never thought of that before, but now always make sure to lock the frame itself to something so that it’s at least a bit more difficult for thieves.

  2. maureen says:

    Traci, you are correct, I just wrapped my lock around the wheel and the bike rack. I know better, but just did this in a rush. Luckily, I too am not in an area where I am very concerned about it being stolen, but still it is better to be safe than sorry. What type of lock do you use? Thanks!

    • Traci says:

      I honestly wouldn’t have thought about someone stealing the bike and leaving the wheel if I hadn’t seen someone talking about it on another blog! I can’t remember where it was now – they had photos and it was sad to see the poor wheel left there by itself 🙂 It’s pathetic that people have to go to such lengths to protect their bikes, but I guess that’s the way it is with everything.

      We use a large U-lock combined with a cable which can fit around both bikes to lock them up together when we go somewhere. I hate carting around the U-lock because it’s heavy (I definitely don’t need more weight on the bike when going up hills – haha), but from what I’ve heard a cable alone can be easily cut.

Leave a comment