BACK it UP!

In an effort to make my cruiser more functional, I bought a sturdy Bontrager rack for my rear fender.  I decided on the Bontrager because I already have the same one on my Trek.  Therefore, I can use the utility type tour bag I already have, as well as my beautiful Po Campo Armitage satchel, or pannier.  Now, bringing home groceries (or something more exciting) will be a breeze!

Besides using the beach cruiser for groceries on Sunday, I cycled through my new town to meet up with family at a local restaurant.  I really feel riding a bike is the best way to experience neighborhoods, up close and personal.

        I was disappointed that there wasn’t a rack to lock up my bike, once I arrived at my destination.  Cycling is an extremely popular method of transportation in Long Beach, NY.  And with the anticipation of more riders through the bike rental program, more racks would be a positive addition around town.  Do you have easy access to bike parking?

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in casual cycler, electra cruiser, Long Island and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BACK it UP!

  1. Karen says:

    Nice basket! “My new town.” Isn’t that fun to write? As to your question about parking, I’m happy to report that downtown ASU’s campus has loads of bike parking so I don’t think I’ll have any trouble in that area.

    • “My new town”, I’m still getting use to saying it Karen! We can support each other as we adjust to new addresses. Interestingly, we both moved to towns that really embrace cycling – which is so cool!

  2. Dottie says:

    Yay for racks! Like you, I always need a place on my bike for my Po Campo bag. 🙂

    I’m lucky to have ample bike parking in Chicago, but we still need more, especially as the number of cyclists increases.

    • I do love my Po Campo bag. I had two gifts inside it, as well as bike stuff! I am very interested in observing the bike rack situation…and/or advocating for more bike parking. Especially since a bike share program is rolling out within the next few days.

Leave a Reply

