Itsy Bitsy Spider

 

 

Spiders, iPhones, and Cycling  Caveat Emptor!

Unfortunately real estate is at a premium on the handle bars of the Trek fx 7.3.  No room for a lovely basket.  Lately, I’ve been brining my  iPhone along with me on my rides to capture those Kodak moments.  At 4.9 ounces, it is certainly a lot lighter than my camera, and takes excellent photos.  I thought it would be great if I could have easy access to my iPhone during rides, and when I came across the versatile Spiderpodium, I thought the concept just might be genius.  Just might….it turns out is accurate.

I had my phone attached to my handlebars on one of my rides to the beach a few weeks ago.  This was while I was also working on looking straight ahead while riding (instead of leaning on the handlebars).  When I did look down, I was devastated to see my phone was gone!

As I rode back along the path I kept my eyes focused on the ground, hoping to spot my phone in its vibrant Kate Spade purple rubber case.  No such luck.  Then I walked along the path again, hoping somehow it would magically appear in the grass.  I was most disappointed to lose photos, and contact info, and dreaded the afternoon that would lie ahead of me – contacting Verizon, getting another phone, etc.

The Good News:  when I arrived home there was a message from a girl who found the phone while she and her mom were walking the path.  The young lady would not accept any type of reward, just asked me to pay if forward!    And I will not trust the Spider device again…”Fool me once, shame on you…Fool me twice, shame on me…”

 

 

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in casual cycler, Photography, Trek FX 7.3 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Itsy Bitsy Spider

  1. Meso says:

    i had seen that contraption before! Im so glad you got your phone back!

    ps…i have those lights! I LOVE them…ive only really used them about 3 times since purchase, but am making regg get a set! they are fabbbbb

  2. Wow, so fortunate to get your phone back! I would be frantic if I’d lost my phone…all the personal info that one has on there!!! Good Karma to the young lady who found returned your phone.

  3. maureen says:

    I know I was truly lucky, and yes the goodness the young lady and her mom put out in the world should certainly come back to them in many ways!

Leave a Reply

