A Bronx Tale

Tour de Bronx

Yesterday I rode in the 25 mile ride of the 17th Annual Tour de Bronx.  And what  splendid adventure it was (there was also a 40 mile route).  Transportation Alternatives along with the Bronx Borough President, Ruben Diaz, Jr. and three local hospitals hosted the tour through an ever changing landscape .  We began near Yankee Stadium, and rode through commercial as well as residential areas, some hilly streets (Astor Place), scenic parks, along beautiful waterways, on the Sheridan Expressway and even through St. Raymond’s Cemetery.

I believe about 6,000 people registered for the ride, but with on site registration the morning of the tour, the number certainly may have increased.

     I was fortunate to have my own personal bike valet meet me in the Bronx, and drop my bike and myself off at the start, then drop my car off at the New York Botanical Garden, the end point of the ride.  My valet, aka my son, attends Fordham  University, right in the heart of the Bronx.

     Participants were given cue sheets when we checked in.  Also, the streets were marked with a TdB arrow, pointing out where to turn.  The NYPD as well as the auxiliary police were terrific about blocking off some of the intersections, as the cyclists rode through.

This event was  a wonderful way to see the beauty of the Bronx, up close!  I’m somewhat familiar with the area,  but I very much enjoyed places I’ve never traveled through  before.

Exploring NY on two wheels, it really doesn’t get any better!  Thank You TA, and all involved for creating such a fun event.

A nice recap can be found here:  http://bronxink.org/2011/10/24/18567-tour-de-bronx-2011-2/

 

I was happy to meet up with Kristina at the first rest stop  http://cruiserdolly.blogspot.com/  but sorry I missed meeting up with some of the 40 mile cyclists, like Mandi ,http://www.thebikewriter.com/  and Sheryl http://www.sherylyvette.com/

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in events, fun rides, lovely rides, riding bikes for fun and health, Trek FX 7.3 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Bronx Tale

  1. Velojoy says:

    Awesome! Hope to be able to participate next year. Wish I had a personal bike valet 🙂

  2. Susi, I think you would have really enjoyed it! And as I recall from your blog, you have a son that even rides with you at times! Maybe next year i will be able to talk Ryan into joining me!

  3. Hi, I love your blog with all these great pictures! Brings back memories. Was that you that I was next to while waiting at one of the rest areas during Tour de Bronx? I was next to a bike like yours with an “I Bike Polite” sign in the front. Tour de Bronx was a blast!

  4. Hey MondayBiker, I’m glad you found my blog. I checked your blog out and left you a comment. It is very nice! I only saw one other Trek like mine on the tour, but it didn’t have the “I Bike Polite Sign”, so yes, you were probably right by me. Small world! I loved the tour as well, and look forward to more. And I look forward to more posts by you!

  5. chris says:

    Hey Inspiredcyclist, great blog and story. Good photo shots too, clearly Imissed a few interesting cyclist along the way with my video clip of the day. You can see it here;

    Maybe you’ll see yourself in the clip. Thanks for your posting the events. Chris

  6. Hey Chris,
    Thanks for sharing your video, and the blog compliment. It is a talent to shoot video, and keep track of where to go, and pedal all at the same time! Kudos to you! I did the 25 mile route, so our paths probably didn’t cross. But maybe next year??? It was a really great day, wasn’t it?

  7. Meso says:

    so great seeing you hun!! ❤

Leave a Reply

