“Coincidence? I think not.”

The above quote is  Paul Newman’s analysis that there are 24 cans of beer in a case, and 24 hours in a day, this great quote fits so many “occurrences” that come our way.

By the way, did you know Paul Newman did his own bike stunts in movies?  Also, there are some amazing images on this site:  http://ridesabike.tumblr.com/post/1690370074/paul-newman-and-joanne-woodward-ride-a-bike

Sisters that Cycle Together!

Monday afternoon I stopped these two smiling cyclists riding along together, chatting laughing, and having fun to ask them if I could take their picture.   They couldn’t have been sweeter, and we began talking about bicycles, bike riding, and places on Long Island to ride.  Nicole is from California and is her visiting her sister Robin.  As the conversation progressed, we discovered that the apartment I’m in the process of buying  (a town away from this chance meeting) is in Robin’s building!  It is a small world after all!  Riding bikes makes it even smaller, the chance to connect with others on the same path!

Coincidence?  Hmmmmm….what do you think?

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in bicycle blogs, bicycle fashion, casual cycler, cycle chic, Long Island, riding bikes for fun and health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Coincidence? I think not.”

  1. Susan says:

    I love Rides a Bike, too! And this photograph of the sisters is wonderful. How terrific that you’ll be seeing more of Robin, as well. Coincidence? I don’t know but I never contradict Mr. Newman.:)

    Cheers!

  2. maureen says:

    I also don’t think it would be polite to contradict him. More than 7 million people live on Long Island, so the chances of this were rather slim. Hope you get time to ride this weekend!

  3. PaddyAnne says:

    That’s a great way to meet a new neighbour! And you can’t have too many of them, if they all ride bikes!! 🙂

  4. Maureen says:

    PaddyAnne, I agree, I’m looking forward to being in an area where so many people ride.

  5. Karen says:

    I think it’s so much easier to talk to strangers when we’re on bikes. I guess it is that instant connection. Plus, being on a bike is just so relaxing that maybe it help us let down our guard and discover the people around us. Nice that you will share a building.

  6. Robin Csabon says:

    Congratulations Maureen! Welcome to Long Beach! You’re going to love it! Let me know if you need anything!

Leave a Reply

