Brooklyn NY LOVES Bicycles!

On Saturday, May 28th smiling bicycle lovers flowed onto Havemeyer Street in Williamsburg, Brooklyn for an upbeat afternoon of bike fun.  This 7th annual “Bike Fetish Day” had been described as a block party for your bike, and it certainly surpassed  all expectations and then some!  The event was organized by the City Reliquary a non for profit community museum and civic center. Good times rolled as DJs played festive tunes, often accompanied by men with moroccos keeping the lively beat.  Low riders, tall bikes, shiny and old – the variety of bikes present with their owners added to the spectacular fun!

Transportation Alternatives had a table passing out bike maps of NYC, Times Up NY helped people tune up their bikes, Nona Vornado http://www.nonavarnado.com/  was present with her fashionable clothing designs, as was Audrey of Dargelos fhttp://www.dar-ge-los.com/products featuring her bike friendly accessories, and Taliah Lempert with her bike portraits on bike tees, greeting cards, etc.!

As you can see by accompanying photos, everyone attending was warm, and friendly.  Cyclists were so happy to embrace the upcoming bike season, and see old friends, and meet new- that it made a beautiful day of spring joy!

Since I drove the distance to Brooklyn, and brought my bike with me.  I made a few stops on my way back to Long Island – (East River State Park – once an old marine/rail terminal) and Brooklyn Flea. Stellar Day!

Have you ever attended an event like this, or organized one?  If so, please share.


About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in bicycles, casual cycler, events, riding bikes for fun and health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brooklyn NY LOVES Bicycles!

  1. Kara says:

    This looks like so much fun! I have not been able to go to something like this yet, but fingers crossed I will in the future.

    • I headed out to this solo, and still had a BLAST! Was taken under the wing of “bikepeaceny” who I met at the New Amsterdam Bike Show. Everyone was so friendly and fun! I will cross my fingers and my toes that you go to an event like this! Hope you are having a great Memorial Day weekend! I’m off for a bit to eat and then a boardwalk ride with my family.

Leave a Reply

