Chic Style has no Age Limits

SILVER STYLE:  This woman was riding in the opposite direction than I was in the bike lane. Even from a distance, I  noticed her shades, eggplant and green  scarf, silver hair blowing gracefully in the breeze and thought that she epitomized cycle chic, as she contentedly rode solo along the boardwalk.

Last summer I had the delightful opportunity to meet Gloria Smith, founder of Womantours, still riding epic tours on her recumbent at age 67, and gracious to invite a group of women into her lovely home in the Tetons for a most delicious, fun, evening!  http://www.womantours.com/wtgallery.html  Based on my escapade, I’ve signed up for another tour this summer.

Recumbent StyleGrace, and style do not have an age.  As much as riding truly makes me feel like a kid again (something I’ve written here several times).  Whether you wear lycra and spandex, or dress in your finest designer essentials, we can all embrace bicycling, and riding for our own pleasure!  Do you think you will always enjoy riding, or do you see some limitations in your future?

http://vimeo.com/14714068

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in age, bicycle fashion, casual cycler, cycle chic, fun rides, Long Island, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chic Style has no Age Limits

  1. I just heard about womantours from someone else… So cool that you’re going!

    • I went to the Grand Tetons and Idaho last summer and truly had the time of my life. I should have pictures and postings on this blog (late July, early August). This summer I’m not traveling as far from home, but going to the Finger Lakes! I’d love to go to Bhutan, and the Washington D.C. tour, but the dates don’t work for me. Are you traveling via bike anywhere this summer?

  2. Sue says:

    My father-in-law is 80 and still rides his Schwinn Cruiser. I hope I’m still riding at 80 and beyond 🙂

  3. Maureen says:

    Sue does your father-in-law feel thatnhelps him stay young? I think it’s awesome. Have you done a post about him? I would enjoy hearing more about him.

Leave a Reply

