Self Portraits = PANDAS

Smile!Grin it and Bear it!  

 In April 2009, I traveled to Atlanta to view the High’s amazing Terracotta Army exhibit, which was absolutely amazing. And then we headed to ZooAtlanta to visit this adorable little guy…Too Cute!Which brings me in an extremely roundabout way to a brief background on panda shots.  

“A panda shot is a picture you take while you ride your bike–with some part of you or your bike in the shot. It’s a self-portrait, so to speak, of the moment. Why is it called a Panda shot? According to the Panda Portraitsflickr group there was a particular person on flickr who’s call name is faster panda kill kill. She takes lots of these shots and so many people liked them that they started doing the same thing–calling them “Panda” shots in honor of her.”http://www.bikerumor.com/2009/07/21/bikerumor-pics-of-the-day-panda-shots/

Urbandictionary lists a different reason for the name “panda portrait”, that of the black and white bike lanes.

The talented S of the blogs academichic  and Simply Bike takes excellent panda shots http://simplybike.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/pandas-through-the-seasons/ , if you are interested in exploring them further, check out the link.

In addition, there are flickr groups, such as this one:http://www.flickr.com/groups/pandaportraits/discuss/72057594121736100/ dedicated just to panda shots.

Some shots I played around with this morning, while procrastinating instead of heading out in the rain to get some errands accomplished:

Do you take photos with a camera, or cell when riding?  

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Self Portraits = PANDAS

  1. simplybike says:

    Thanks for the shout out! And I think you’re off to a great start with your Pandas! It definitely took a lot of trial and error for me to figure out some good angles from which to take the shots. And I recommend practicing on car free streets 🙂

    S.

  2. Kara says:

    I don’t know why, but every time I think of taking a Panda, I envision myself crashing my bike. So that is not a great place to start. I am very envious of this skill. And with cells that have such good cameras on them nowadays it is so easy to take them.

  3. Oh Kara, I could easily envision crashing as well now. In the past, I never thought I would. For me, it is a fun challenge to myself, to learn to perfect taking shots while on the bike, and I’d like to be able to take some roadside scenic shots.

Leave a Reply

