Paradise FOUND!

Paradise!

Saturday’s  gentle temperatures (low 50s) and sunshine beckoned me to take my electra beach cruiser to Point Lookout for a relaxing ride.  With a 15 mile speed limit this .25 mile town surrounded by water on 3 sides is picturesque and absolute perfection!  Beach cottages and gingerbread homes line the wide streets as bicyclists ride along casually on their way to a restaurant for a delicious midday meal, the library to stock up on great reads, or the post office to pick up their mail.

Your dinner delivered by bike!  Those olives are really goin’ green!

I was invigorated by the scent of salt and the bay breezes as I pedaled up and down the roads, admiring the homes, spring garden work that was beginning, and the lovely small town community feel.  And the deep turquoise water at the beach glistened in the March sunshine!  Paradise found!

The pink match to S's old year's bike!

For S of Simply Bike…the pink version of your old mint green Hawaiian electra cruiser!

*A one bedroom cottage in the town was featured as a location in next week’s HBO miniseries “Mildred Pierce” with Kate Winslet.  In fact several Long Island locations will be in the movie.

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in bicycle blogs, bicycles, electra cruiser, fun rides, healthy living, Long Island, lovely rides, nature, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paradise FOUND!

  1. Kara says:

    Gorgeous! What a beautiful ride. And it is fun to see the cruiser out and about. I used to have an Electra Townie and sometimes I miss it. It was simple and lovely, just a bit too small for my 6-foot frame.

  2. I love my electra cruiser. I’m 5′ 5″ with apparently a short inseam, so it works well for me, though I always wished I was taller.
    Hey did you get in a ride today?

  3. PaddyAnne says:

    This looks like a great place to spend a day/week/month/year! just riding around on your bike ! I like visiting other places via the “blog world” and bike blogs are the best way to do it!

    • Oh Pedaltalk, it is a “peace” of heaven right here on earth, with a 15 mph speed limit, one traffic light, and pedestrians and cyclists that say, “Good morning,” and “hi,” as they pass you. And if you like living by the water, well look no further!

Leave a Reply

