The Power of Women Bicyclists, Helping Others!

“Calendar Bike”

I know the people of Japan trying to survive the devastating earthquake, tsunami, and nuclear power plant issues are on the minds of most of us.  What if some of us united to do something to assist the victims of these disasters?

Many bike bloggers are talented, creative photographers.  My original thought was coordinating a calendar featuring a collection of our bicycles. However, having it printed might be a bit too costly to then make a profit to donate.  Another possible option (less costly) would be a notebook with six photos.

http://www.snapfish.com/snapfish/gifts/product=notebook

The 6.75″ x 9″ notebooks feature:

Durable, laminated cover

200 blank or lined interior pages

Optional dedication message

Please let me know if you are interested in such a project!

 


About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in bicycles, events, Global Community, Issues, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Power of Women Bicyclists, Helping Others!

  1. Dottie says:

    I’ve never tried putting together anything like that, but I would be happy to participate and help any way I could. Let me know.

  2. Elisa M says:

    This is a great idea!

  3. Hey this is a pretty amazing idea : ) Just started following you guys. I’m Emma-Jane, from South Africa and i’ve just started an awareness campaign for alternative transport – so bikes, walking, longboarding you name it. So check out the blog, I take all the photos myself : ) and i’d love to help!

    x

    • Emma-Jane I think your site is fabulous. I also just signed on to follow you on twitter! I’m glad you commented. I hope the idea is a good one, if we have a few more people interested then we can make it a go! At my school this week we are organizing a jump-a-thon – where the kids will raise funds by jumping rope and the younger children will jump to keep up balloons. We are calling it Jump for Japan.

  4. Traci says:

    I was just thinking the same thing about wanting to do something to help in Japan, so actually donated to a few places (Red Cross and World Vets). I wanted to help both humans and animals, so chose two places 🙂

  5. Hey Dottie, if I get enough interest would you submit a photo or two? Traci, would you be interested in submitting a photo? You both take great pictures. Thanks. I’m doing something independently, and helping my school organize something for the kids to take part in and learn that everyone can make a difference. I thought it would be nice to do something through cycling blogs too. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

