Riding in a Winter Wonderland

Or…”Here comes the sun…Little darling, it’s been a long, cold lonely winter.”  This has been the first day in a while where the snow is starting to melt, and the blacktop on the streets is peeking through here in N.Y.

   Feeling somewhat like a strand of Christmas lights in which some bulbs just aren’t shining, I knew I needed to take advantage of getting on my bike before new snow comes our way.

    Wearing Snozu ski pants, tights, socks, and a variety of layers, along with a hat under my trusty helmet, I went for a short cruise.  It’s been a while, and I took it slow.  Looking as if I was a sibling of Bibendum (the Michelin tire mascot), I felt refreshed and invigorated!  My legs were thrilled, and I think my body soaked in some very needed sunlight and Vitamin D.  The streets were quiet, and stunningly beautiful!   Ride On!

Little flurries

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in bicycle fashion, cycle chic, healthy living, nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Riding in a Winter Wonderland

  1. Kara says:

    Beautiful pictures!

    • maureen says:

      Kara, thanks! I cannot even exclaim how much I enjoyed your photos of Egypt! I even shared your site with my sixth graders when we were studying ancient Egypt.

  2. Samantha says:

    Great photos! Is that a Pashley? Beautiful. Do you have that along with your Trek and that lovely blue cruiser bike? I know what you mean about feeling refreshed after getting out for a ride. I only rode briefly the day our big blizzard hit – I didn’t think I could handle it as the day wore on so I worked from home. I was out on Oma yesterday though, and it was wonderful. It’s supposed to get verrry cold this weekend, so I’m hoping to get a brief ride in this evening to meet Mr. Ding for dinner after work. I hope you get more ride time in!

  3. maureen says:

    Yes, the bike of choice for the snowy ride was the Pashley! I purchased it in the fall right before I had a bike related accident. So I didn’t get to ride then and enjoy her to the fullest. I was hoping to use if for commuting. The electra crusier I’ve had for about 6 years (possibly 7), and it got me back into the joy of cycling. I bought the Trek for touring, since a coaster breaks and no speeds don’t work for bike tours. It may sound strange, but after much thought, the purchase of two very different bikes for two very different types of rides seemed practical.
    How was the ride on the Oma? The Oma is a beautiful bike!

    • Samantha says:

      Riding on Oma in the snow has been fine. The streets quickly get slippery, then slushy, then just wet here, due to the cars. Rarely is there just nice packed snow to ride on. Had a little of that after the blizzard last week and it was sorta fun , as long as I was on streets with no traffic. I slide around a little, but on that big heavy bike, with those studded tires, it was sorta in slow-motion and I had time to recover or even put my foot down. With the streets so narrow right now because of the snow and the bike lanes non-existent, it’s really nice to be sitting upright so I can see everything and the cars can see me.

  4. dottie says:

    Lovely photos. Your description of yourself as a strand of Christmas lights with some bulbs out made me laugh. 🙂

    • Thanks Dottie! I really was feeling that way, but the bicycle ride helped me feel a lot better. I get so much great advice from your site, that it made me put on snow pants, tights, and head on out!

  5. Samantha, I also enjoy sitting upright! Be careful about the sliding!
    Hey, I liked your review of “jeggings”, so much that I went looking for a pair for riding.

Leave a Reply

