Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park

Walkway Over the Hudson

Longest Elevated Pedestrian Park in the World

 

     No riding for me for sometime, as my fractured eyesocket, swollen and black and blue face, ribs, and finger will need to heal first.  When I first booked a trip to upstate NY for this past weekend, I had planned to bring along my bike  (Parents Weekend at my son’s college).  I had read about this 1.28 mile walkway, and thought it sounded like a unique ride!  When the bridge opened back in 1888 it was the longest bridge in the world, with freight cars using it until a fire in 1974.  Public and private support transformed it to a friendly scenic place for cyclists and pedestrians to enjoy.  Yesterday happened to be the celebration of it being opened one year!  HAPPY ANNIVERSARY !

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in fun rides, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park

  1. simplybike says:

    Oh, that sounds like such a unique thing to cover on foot or bike.

    I know this post is somewhat old so I hope you’re feeling much better by now! How are you healing? I wish you a speedy recovery and hope to see a post with you all better soon!

    • maureen says:

      It is pretty unique S. Still not riding, wish I was. I have a bit of nerve damage, the fracture is still healing, and so it will be a few more weeks. Then it will be winter here in the North East! Thanks for the well wishes, and at least I can ride vicariously through you and Dottie and Trish! Keeps me happy – thanks!

Leave a Reply

