A Tale of Two Rides

A Tale of Two Rides

OUCH!

Last Sunday (9/19) I went back to Long Beach with a friend for a ride on the boardwalk.  We had a wonderful time, with the waves crashing nearby, beautiful weather, and good company!   I used my new Trek bike for the first time.  I love how light and nimble it is (about 34 pounds) and

We went again this Sunday, and unfortunately, it did not end up as wonderful.  Somehow, I ended flying over the handlebars and rocketing face first on to the boardwalk.  Passer bys called the police and an ambulance before I even got up.  The EMTs were fabulous, and took excellent care of my swollen bruised face.   My brakes were now somehow locked up, my front wheel was bent and a few more things were damaged on the bike.

On the way home I dropped the bike off at my local bike store where I purchased it.  Both the manager and service man were so caring and helpful!  They have called me several times to update me on the bike, and check on me!  They truly went above and beyond!

http://brandscycle.com/?ctt_id=61471841&ctt_adnw=Google&ctt_kw=bike%20shop&ctt_ch=ps&ctt_entity=kw&ctt_adid=4600508738&ctt_nwtype=search&ctt_cli=2x7409x57814x1457337&gclid=COSL1PL-rKQCFeh25Qod1lSZdg

I’ve seen my doctor, gone for x-rays, and a CAT scan.  My eye socket is fractured, and I have an appointment with an ophthalmologist later today – but realize how fortunate I am that I didn’t damage anything else. 

So lessons I’ve learned:  Accidents can happen anywhere – not just on paved streets!  And I have been blessed in my life with wonderful, caring people – a lesson I was already aware of, but still reinforced by this.  My students made me a card (as I did go to school) and on it wrote:  We notice you still find a way to smile at us!  How unbelievably sweet!

Ride Safely!

About inspiredcyclist

Enthusiastic about riding my cruiser bike for fun and health!
This entry was posted in bicycles, safety, Trek FX 7.3, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Tale of Two Rides

  1. Traci says:

    Ouch!!! Sorry to hear about your accident, but glad you’re not injured even more! Did you hit something that caused the fall? I’m always so paranoid at night when we’re riding through the side streets around our neighborhood. There’s so little lighting and I know from seeing the streets during the day that there are potholes and debris all over, so I usually ride at a granny pace to try and avoid hitting anything.

    I hope your poor face heals soon and you feel better! 🙂

  2. simplybike says:

    Oh no, feel better soon! Sorry to hear that but it’s so inspiring to see you finding the positive in all of this. You sounds like such an optimistic person 🙂 I hope your bruising and the fracture heals soon and you can once more enjoy riding!

    S.

  3. Thanks for the well wishes Traci and S, it has been a loooong week, and towards the end of the week my spirits were starting to sink a little. We’ve had a lot of rain here, and that was not helping with the stiffness I am feeling. Traci – I really don’t know for sure what happened, the emt looked over my bike and he said the brake lines had jammed. My friend looked back and said my back wheel was straight up in the air perpendicular to the boardwalk as my body flew over the handlebars, and I landed face first on the boardwalk. So, keep riding like a granny my bicycleblog buddies!!!

  4. Your trip to the Walkway over the Hudson turned up on my google alert since I’m the Immediate Past Chairman of the Walkway. I read about your accident and have a theory about what caused it, something I’ve run into over many years of cycling. Could you have used the front break only while your other hand was not holding the handlebar. This causes the front wheel only to stop – if you are not holding on with both hands your body goes over the handlebar carrying the rear wheel with you. It happens so fast most people don’t know what happens especially when you hit your head. If you were using a cruiser bike with only rear wheel calipher breaks this theory would not be the cause – only true with handlebar breaks. Fred Schaeffer

  5. Hi Fred, Thanks so much for your comment. Hmmmm…As you said it happened so fast, I can’t be sure what took place – but your theory is very possible. I appreciate it! My son and I did stroll across the walkway yesterday – it was a beautiful walk- with delightful weather and views and such an upbeat crowd. Today I proudly wore my new Hudson Walkway hooded jacket and cap! Hope you were there as well, and enjoyed the festivities as much as we did! You must be so proud of your accomplishments! If you have any events cyclists might be interested in taking part in, please keep us informed!

  6. Dottie says:

    Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear about your accident! The injuries sound painful and I hope you’re well on your way to complete recovery by now. Fred’s theory of what happened sounds likely, as I know of another person that happened to.

Leave a Reply

